Test 20: I will survive!

January 29, 2011 at 6:46 am Leave a comment

This is possibly the simplest, and most simple-minded, of the tests in the book. There are 20 questions, which you answer on a scale of 0 = this did not happen to me through to 4 = I experienced a great deal of this. There is no reverse scoring – you simply add up your total and voila.
I thought I’d do “well”, but it turns out I am slap bang in the middle (50th percentile). Perhaps if the test hadn’t assumed that I believe in a Bearded Sky God (Q12 “My faith in God increased” and Q16 “My confidence in God increased” – to which I obviously answered zero), I might have officially been a thriver. My low score on this test sent me into a tail-spin of despair and I didn’t come out of my bedroom for four days…

I really worry about the construct validity and the reliability of tests like these.
But maybe it “works” fine for its initial population, Latinas with Chronic Illness.

Entry filed under: self-knowledge.

Test 19; Resilience test mangled, but was useless anyhow Test 21: You know that Voight-Kampf test of yours? Did you ever take that test yourself? Deckard?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


