Test Two: High Anxiety?

January 6, 2011 at 6:47 am 1 comment

So, it’s a sixty item test with “yes” and “no” answers to a series of statements like “I rarely have disturbed sleep” and “I cannot think clearly about anything because disrupting thoughts keep occurring in my…. what was I saying. What’s this blog post about again? Um…

And then there’s a semi-elaborate scoring system and you end up with scores for different components of anxiety, namely Feelings, Cognitive, Behavioural and Somatic (bodily symptoms).

I thought I’d be somewhere in the middle re: anxiety, but it turns out I am, according to this test, quite remarkably chilled (Usual disclaimers apply).
“Top” 25 percentile for feelings, top 15 for Cognitive, Top 7 (ish) for Behavioural and 30 for Somatic.
Now, of course, there’s ANGER – I often feel and express anger (and despairing about the state of the world and the activist ‘scene’), but I have I think worked on my phlegmatism (word?!) over the last decade or so. There is simply no point getting anxious – it’s the old “well, if that happens, I’ll cope. I’ll end up doing x or y and you know, it won”t be the end of the universe.”

Mind you, it could just be about when I am taking this test. 18 months ago I suspect my scores would have been through the roof – I was going through some really bad shit (work-related). And 20 years ago, yeah, I was a lot less phlegmatic, and much harder work to be around – a real stress-bunny (not that I am exactly a barrel of larfs now, of course)

What are the race, gender and class implications here
Gee, what are the sources of anxiety? Maybe low status? Lack of control over work. Exposure to bullying and domination? Uncertainty about whether you’ll have a job this time next week? Apparently all of these things aren’t worth considering… It’s another example of psychology’s complicity with exploitation (be it under a communist or capitalist system) – in regarding this as simply inevitable “background noise.”

Dumb questions
Q17 I sometimes think of myself as an inefficient person.
Well, sometimes I am! Other times I crack on…

Other Scales
HADS

Links
Mel Brooks1977 film

Entry filed under: self-knowledge. Tags: .

Test One – Self Esteem Test Three: Depressing, but true

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dwite wrights #1 «  |  January 6, 2011 at 8:22 am

    […] Meanwhile, my narcissism is getting the better of me over at “Crookedest Timber“, where I’ve now taken 2 out of 24 psychological tests. So far I have in-the-middle self-esteem and low anxiety. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


